Skip to content ↓

Braybrook Primary Academy

Reach for the stars!

curriculum expectations: uks2

The National Curriculum in England

The national curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. It introduces pupils to the best that has been thought and said; and helps engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement.


The national curriculum is just one element in the education of every child. There is time and space in the school day and in each week, term and year to range beyond the national curriculum specifications. The national curriculum provides an outline of core knowledge around which teachers can develop exciting and stimulating lessons to promote the development of pupils’ knowledge, understanding and skills as part of the wider school curriculum.


The national curriculum is organised on the basis of 11 subjects, which extends to 12 subjects in KS2 and beyond when including the teaching of MFL (Modern Foreign Languages). These subjects are classified in legal terms as ‘core’ (English / Maths / Science) and ‘other foundation’ subjects.


The requirements of learners in the ‘foundation subjects’ is detailed in each subject area below.